Who has access to these features?
Transferring vacation balances is typically a restricted action, but this varies widely from company to company. If you notice you do not have access to some of the below functionalities, reach out to our Support who can check your permission levels, or contact your administrator.
🤔 What is a vacation balance transfer?
After the last day of the holiday period has passed, it is possible to transfer the remaining vacation balance to the next holiday period. We call this process a vacation balance transfer.
Where to do the vacation balance transfer
The vacation balance transfer is done in the employee's user card; Navigate here via Department > Users, and head into the employee's user card. Click on the tab called Vacation balances.
Note: At the moment it's only possible to do one transfer per time.
How to do the transfer
Start by going into the date picker by clicking on the small calendar icon. Select the last day of the holiday period that has just ended.
💡 Tip: Use the arrows at the bottom of the calendar to find and select previous holiday periods (in our example, 01/01/2020-31/12/2020 is the previous holiday period):
Once you have navigated to the previous holiday period, the system will show you the balance details for this period. In our example, we see that the employee had 30 days accrued, spent 23 days, resulting in 7 days remaining holiday:
Now that you know what the left-over balance from the previous period is, continue by navigating to the first day of the next holiday period. Click on the three dots:
...and then click on the option called Transfer balance:
A transfer form will appear with pre-filled information regarding the amount to transfer, and the holiday period you are transferring from and transferring to. In the amount field, you'll be suggested an amount, which is the available balance on the last day of the previous holiday period.
💡 You can edit the suggested fields if you want to change the amount and/or on which date the balance expires. Notice you may also leave a comment, however, this is optional.
After reviewing the information in the transfer form, click Submit.
The amount will be added in the Transfer line (see below) in the vacation balance card, and become available from the first day of the holiday period you have transferred to. A success message will inform the action was successful. 🎉
Where to visualize the transfer after it has been done
Once a transfer has been made, you can visualize it in the Balance history and in the employee Logbook, through the History tab in the user card. We'll check out both of these areas below:
1. Visualizing the transfer in the balance history
Once the vacation balance is transferred into the new holiday period, you can visualize it in the Balance history; Head into the employee's user card, and click on the Vacation balance tab. Right below the vacation balance cards, you will see the Balance history, where you should be able to spot the transfer:
2. Visualizing the transfer in the logbook
Head into the employee's user card, and click on the History tab. You will be redirected to the users logbook, where you can click on From Vacation Planner, to view any transfers made for this user:
Date: When the transfer was made
Description: Which vacation balance type was transferred, what amount was transferred, into which holiday period.
Created by: Who made the transfer
🔄 Reverting a transfer
Made an error? No problem - The Revert function in the balance history will revert your transfer.
Note: To ensure you or any of your colleagues that have access to the balance history don't run into any confusion at a later stage, it is required to add a comment when reverting a transfer.
1. Start by locating the transfer line you want to revert in the Balance history. Click on the three dots next to the amount of the transfer, and press Revert:
2. Add the reason for reverting the transfer in the comment field, and finish by pressing Submit:
3. A success banner will inform you that the revert has been completed 🎉 You will also see that the amount reverted has been removed from the Transfer line in the relevant balance card, right above the Balance history:
Well done! If you need any help using this feature, please do not hesitate to contact us:
Help & Support
Any questions or concerns? Please reach out to us - we'd be more than happy to help 😊
🖥️ Web/PC: Click on the blue chat bubble at the bottom right corner.
📲 App: Click More followed by Contact support.












