Skip to main content

Adding and Managing Studies

Learn how Analysts can add, change the state of, and delete a Study from the Dashboard, along with key recommendations to consider.

When you login to a Recollective site as an Analyst, the first page you see is the Dashboard. The Dashboard will display all the studies in the site filtered by Study State. If you have any active Studies, it will start by showing only those OPEN Studies, otherwise, it will start by showing you a list of DRAFT Studies.

Click on the study state filter menu to view studies in each of the other states, or to view all studies.

Site Dashboard with the Open studies view showcased

Adding a Study

On the Dashboard Analysts will find an Add Study button. Press the button and choose a name for the Study to get started. You'll also have the opportunity to define additional settings like the Study and Participant Languages if desired.

After defining these settings and your Study Objectives, the Study will start in a DRAFT state so you can prepare things before you change it to OPEN. Once created, you'll be asked if you want to use the Study Setup Guide. If this is your first visit to a Study, you will also be offered a tour of the interface.

Once in the Study, you'll be able to build out your Home page cards, Activities, and Discussions content. Don't forget to review all the Study Settings before you invite participants to join.

Changing the Study State

Studies can be in one of four states: DRAFT, OPEN, CLOSED and ARCHIVED (learn more about Study States). To change the state of a Study from the Dashboard, click the state on the Study card (Open studies will appear as a green dot) and select the desired state from the drop-down menu.

From within a Study, click on the state next to the study name and again, select the desired state from the drop-down menu. You can also change the state from the Admin menu in the Study Settings section.

How to change the Study State within the Study. The dropdown menu next to the Study name is highlighted.  The Study State within Study Admin>Study Settings is also highlighted

Deleting a Study

You can permanently delete a Study and all its data via the Study card menu, which is available by selecting the arrow in the top-right of the study card.

Study card with the dropdown arrow highlighted which hows Study Settings, "Copy Study" option, link to the Participant Directory and the 'Delete Study" option

⚠️ Warning: We strongly recommend you ARCHIVE a Study instead of deleting it. If it contains any data at all, you may want to refer to it in the future and there's no cost to hold onto it. The Delete Study option only exists to purge duplicate and test Studies.

🗣️ Still have questions or want to leave feedback on how we can do better? Contact us at helpdesk@recollective.com.

Did this answer your question?